13485cert

Got the Flu?

In Uncategorized on January 6, 2011 at 2:25 am

I’m sure that my video selection for this week meant something very different to me when I was a teenager. Now that I am father of five this song has a very different and personal meaning. Everyone in my family has been sick since Christmas Day and some of us are still not well.

                I started my career in the pharmaceutical and biotech industry, but I switched to medical devices in 2000. In the device industry there are lots of great product ideas that have sprouted from the fertile minds of surgeons and biomedical engineers. Unfortunately, most of these wonderful product ideas will never make it. Why?

                If you can’t sell it the company will never survive.

                This phenomenon is 180-degrees opposite from the pharmaceutical industry. Drug companies have established distribution channels and know exactly how they intend to market and sell the new products they are developing. They have to because who would invest ten to fifteen years to develop a new product that nobody wants to buy. Sometimes the products don’t even work and products are still successful.

                Which brings me to my real question…Why hasn’t anyone developed the perfect drug to treat colds? Everyone wants it and everyone needs it. In fact, while my family and I were sick (somewhere around 3 am the Monday after Christmas) I would have bought anything if it would help us sleep through the night and feel better in the morning.

                Just-in-case there is a budding entrepreneur reading my blog, focus your efforts on drug delivery systems specifically for pediatrics. If only my 6 and 8 year-old could swallow pills and syrups without vomiting. For the drug companies that want to ride the next wave of growth, I recommend developing drugs with that sedate small children, make parent feel high, and make the elderly feel young again. Who cares how my platelets feel, I just want this fever and pounding head ache to go away.

                If you and your family are unfortunate enough to have enjoyed the flu this holiday season…

                These 4 teaspoons of grape medicine are for you.

Leave a Reply

