13485cert

The Perfect Pecan Pie – Recipe # 14,971

In International Standard, ISO, ISO 14971, Risk Management, Training on February 7, 2011 at 6:42 am

Hats off to Woodson and the rest of the Packers! My team was the Patriots, but I’m happy to see that the Packers showed some real heart and overcame their injuries to win the trophy. As for the half time show…I thought it was more lights than music. I included a link to the half-time show at the end of this blog, but I thought the Black Eyed Peas video called “The Time (Dirty Bit)” is much more entertaining.

                For those of you familiar with the ISO 14791:2007 Risk Management Standard, you may have already figured out the topic of this blog. For the rest of you…did you really think I tried perfecting my recipe for pecan pie nearly 15,000 times?

                A couple of years ago, a client of mine asked me to give them a training course on Risk Management—specifically an overview of ISO 14971:2007. In my struggle to find a fresh way of engaging the interest of my client’s employees, I developed the concept of using the principles of Risk Management in a more tasty application. Back in 2006 I developed a five-minute presentation on how to make “The Perfect Pecan Pie.” For this new three-hour presentation, I tortured my students with a homemade pecan pie that I placed in the middle of the conference room table.

                This presentation included several tools to help my students remember the principles of Risk Management. First, the alliteration of the letter “P” throughout the presentation beat my message steadily into their subconscious. My second weapon was the smell of a warm, fresh, pecan pie. Third, I used analogies to the pecan pie making process for each aspect of the Risk Management Process. Fourth, I used vivid descriptions throughout my presentation to help everyone visualize the sweet, praline confection at each step of the baking process. And finally, I burned the experience into their brains forever with the taste of the Perfect Pecan Pie.

                Not everyone loves Pecan Pie as much as I do, and not everyone has tried making the Perfect Pecan Pie as many times as I have. I have made gooey pies, sickeningly sweet pies, pies that crack and crumble, pies that were barely cooked, pies without a crust, and pies without a filling. If you plan to coordinate your entire presentation around the concept of a homemade pecan pie you made in your kitchen last night, you had better have a proven Risk Management process to reduce the risk of embarrassing yourself.

                Please read my next several blogs as I unveil the secret to making the Perfect Pecan Pie—one slice at a time:)

                Here’s some of the half time show…(assuming the link is not taken down).

Leave a Reply

